glx_f1c67fb6a474ecfe39ae91a41804ce57.txt c416aa02f97f4a3afa078304035f9391
Sociology

Stroke Prevention News — ScienceDaily

Aware or Not Aware: You Are Affected by Food Cues Either Way

A research team has revealed a difference in neural activity in response to visual food stimuli, depending on whether those stimuli are presented consciously or unconsciously. Using a questionnaire …


Combo of Bad Cholesterol and High Blood Pressure May Increase Heart Attack or Stroke Risk

A new study suggests lipoprotein(a) cholesterol may affect relationship between hypertension and cardiovascular disease …


Persistent Asthma Linked to Increased Buildup of Plaque in Arteries Leading to the Brain

A new study suggests individuals with persistent asthma have higher levels of inflammation and artery plaque, which may increase heart attack or stroke risk. An analysis of data for more than 5,000 …


Shingles Associated With Increased Risk for Stroke, Heart Attack

A new study demonstrated that shingles, also known as herpes zoster, is associated with an almost 30% higher long-term risk of a major cardiovascular event such a stroke or heart …


Put the Kettle On! How Black Tea (and Other Favorites) May Help Your Health Later in Life

A daily cup of tea could help you to enjoy better health late in life — however if you’re not a tea drinker, there are other things you can add to your diet. The key is flavonoids, which are …


Blinding Eye Disease Strongly Associated With Serious Forms of Cardiovascular Disease

A new study has identified that heart attack, stroke and heart failure are linked to a specific type of age-related macular …


Are Climate Change and Air Pollution Making Neurologic Diseases Worse?

People with neurologic diseases like headache, dementia, multiple sclerosis (MS) and Parkinson’s disease may experience worsening symptoms due to climate change, according to a scoping review of …


Cannabis Users Had Worse Bypass Outcomes, Increased Amputation and Opioid Use, Study Shows

The use of cannabis may have a negative impact on outcomes for a common bypass surgery, a study suggests. Patients who used cannabis prior to lower extremity bypass had decreased patency, meaning the …


Bypass Surgery Favorable for Initial Treatment of Chronic Limb-Threatening Ischemia

Performing open bypass surgery to restore circulation for people with a severe form of peripheral artery disease (PAD) — a condition that limits blood flow to the legs and feet — resulted in better …


Bivalirudin Found to Be Safer and More Effective Than Heparin for Treating Heart Attack Patients Undergoing Percutaneous Coronary Intervention

A new study could change the treatment course for hundreds of thousands of patients, saving lives and preventing …


New Role for Blood Clotting Protein in Triggering Inflammation

Researchers have discovered a new role for the blood clotting protein, von Willebrand Factor (VWF), that could lead to the development of new treatments for patients with inflammatory and blood …


In Young Adults, Moderate to Heavy Drinking Linked to Higher Risk of Stroke

People in their 20s and 30s who drink moderate to heavy amounts of alcohol may be more likely to have a stroke as young adults than people who drink low amounts or no alcohol, according to a new …


Iron Induces Chronic Heart Failure in Half of Heart Attack Survivors

A multi-institution study has identified that iron drives the formation of fatty tissue in the heart and leads to chronic heart failure in about fifty percent of heart attack …


Studies Support Use of Drug-Coated Balloons Over Bare Metal Stents in Treating Femoropopliteal Lesions

New research shows the use of drug-coated balloons is an optimal approach compared to bare metal stents in treating femoropopliteal …


Best Blood Thinner for Minimizing Bleeding Risk Identified

A large-scale comparison of direct oral anticoagulants (blood thinners), commonly prescribed for irregular heartbeats, has identified the drug with the lowest risk of …


Large Stroke Trial Finds Intensive Blood Pressure Lowering After Clot Removal Worsens Recovery

The largest ever randomized controlled trial of intensive blood pressure lowering after blood clot removal in stroke patients found it led to deterioration in surrounding brain tissue and higher …


Researchers Reveal Why Shingles Can Lead to Stroke

Scientists investigating why people who have had shingles are at a higher risk of stroke, now believe the answer lies within lipid vesicles called exosomes that shuttle proteins and genetic …


Study Identifies Alcohol Risk Factors for Acute Stroke

A global study into causes of stroke has found that high and moderate alcohol consumption was associated with increased odds of stroke. The study also found that there was no link between low level …


Certain Type of Stroke on the Rise, With Higher Rates Among Black People

Rates of one type of stroke called subarachnoid hemorrhage have increased in older people and men in recent years, and such strokes occur in Black people at a disproportionately higher rate compared …


New Study Identifies Unique Type of Microglia Associated With Stroke in the I/R Injured Brain

Medical researchers have identified a new type of microglia associated with stroke in the ischemia/reperfusion (I/R) injured …


Tuesday, January 10, 2023

Tuesday, December 13, 2022

Wednesday, November 23, 2022

Tuesday, November 22, 2022

Thursday, November 17, 2022

Wednesday, November 16, 2022

Monday, November 7, 2022

Thursday, November 3, 2022

Wednesday, November 2, 2022

Tuesday, November 1, 2022

Monday, October 31, 2022

Friday, October 28, 2022

Thursday, October 27, 2022

Monday, October 24, 2022

Monday, October 17, 2022

Wednesday, October 12, 2022

Tuesday, October 11, 2022

Monday, October 10, 2022

Wednesday, October 5, 2022

Monday, October 3, 2022

Thursday, September 29, 2022

Monday, September 26, 2022

Friday, September 23, 2022

Monday, September 19, 2022

Thursday, September 15, 2022

Wednesday, September 7, 2022

Friday, September 2, 2022

Thursday, September 1, 2022

Wednesday, August 31, 2022

Tuesday, August 30, 2022

Friday, August 26, 2022

Thursday, August 25, 2022

Tuesday, August 23, 2022

Monday, August 22, 2022

Thursday, August 18, 2022

Wednesday, August 17, 2022

Thursday, August 11, 2022

Wednesday, August 10, 2022

Tuesday, August 9, 2022

Thursday, August 4, 2022

Tuesday, August 2, 2022

Monday, August 1, 2022

Thursday, July 28, 2022

Monday, July 25, 2022

Wednesday, July 20, 2022

Friday, July 15, 2022

Thursday, July 14, 2022

Wednesday, July 13, 2022

Tuesday, July 12, 2022

Monday, July 11, 2022

Friday, July 1, 2022

Friday, June 24, 2022

Thursday, June 23, 2022

Wednesday, June 22, 2022

Friday, June 17, 2022

Thursday, June 16, 2022

Wednesday, June 15, 2022

Tuesday, June 14, 2022

Tuesday, June 7, 2022

Friday, June 3, 2022

Wednesday, May 25, 2022

Tuesday, May 24, 2022

Monday, May 23, 2022

Friday, May 20, 2022

Thursday, May 19, 2022

Tuesday, May 17, 2022

Monday, May 16, 2022


Source link Stroke Prevention News — ScienceDaily

Recent research into stroke prevention is suggesting that some factors, such as exercise and diet, are key to reducing the risk of stroke. A new report released by the American Heart Association and American Stroke Association says that diet and exercise may be helpful in reducing the risk of stroke.

The study found that diet and exercise were associated with a lower risk of stroke and could play a role in stroke prevention. Specifically, the researchers found that diets high in fruits, vegetables, and whole grains, as well as increased physical activity, were associated with reduced stroke risks.

The research also noted that the Mediterranean diet and DASH diet are both generally recommended to reduce heart disease and stroke risks. In particular, the Mediterranean diet emphasizes fruits, vegetables, fish, healthy fats, and whole-grain foods, and the DASH diet emphasizes fruits, vegetables, low-fat dairy products, and whole grains.

In addition to diet and exercise, the report highlighted the importance of lifestyle behaviors for stroke prevention. A healthy lifestyle includes quitting smoking and avoiding or reducing excessive alcohol use. High blood pressure is a major risk factor for stroke, and lifestyle changes such as weight loss and exercise can help reduce blood pressure. Additionally, it is recommended to check cholesterol levels, get regular medical check-ups, and reduce stress.

The report’s authors concluded: “Preventing stroke is linked to a lifestyle that includes healthy eating habits, regular physical activity, and maintaining a healthy weight.” It is important to develop and adopt healthy habits early, as living a healthy lifestyle can directly reduce the risk of stroke.

Related Articles

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Back to top button